Armenia and Azerbaijan agree on ceasefire in Nagorno-Karabakh from October 18

Yerevan and Baku will announce ceasefire in Karabakh conflict zone on October 18 from 00:00. The Armenian Foreign Ministry announced this on Saturday, October 17.

“The Republic of Armenia and the Republic of Azerbaijan have decided to announce a humanitarian truce on October 18 from 00:00 local time,” the ministry said in a statement published on its website.

The Foreign Ministry noted that this decision was made in accordance with the statement of the presidents of the OSCE Minsk Group co-chair countries.

Earlier, on October 9, following the negotiations held in Moscow at the initiative of the Russian side, Azerbaijan and Armenia agreed on a ceasefire from 12:00 local time on October 10 for humanitarian purposes to exchange prisoners and bodies. However, the ceasefire is not observed.

On October 1 presidents of Russia, USA and France Vladimir Putin, Donald Trump and Emmanuelle Macron issued joint statement on Karabakh. The leaders condemned escalation of violence in the region, expressed condolences to families of the victims and called the parties to the conflict for immediate cessation of hostilities.