Finland will close the borders for ten countries from August,24

Since August 24 Helsinki again closes borders for citizens from 10 countries because of the coronavirus situation in these countries. This is reported on the website of the Finnish government on Wednesday, August 19.

“The internal border control for movement between Finland and Iceland, Greece, Malta, Germany, Norway and Denmark will be restored,” the report says.

Restrictions will also apply to Cyprus, Ireland, Japan and San Marino.

Finnish authorities consider the main criterion for opening the borders as COVID-19 incidence rate, which should not exceed eight per 100,000 people in the last 14 days. The incidence rate for the last two weeks, for example, in Estonia, Italy, Lithuania and Slovakia at the time of the review on 15 August is just under 10 people per hundred.