Germany introduced a fine of up to €5 thousand for not having protective masks

Since April 27, 15 of the 16 federal states of Germany have made it compulsory to wear masks in public places and transport. Failure to comply with this rule will result in a fine of up to €5 thousand.

The need to wear protective masks applies to the regions of Bavaria, Berlin, Hessen, Lower Saxony, Baden-Wuerttemberg, Brandenburg, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Bremen, Saarland, Saxony, Thuringia, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saxony-Anhalt.

It is noted that in the German state of Schleswig-Holstein this obligation will come into force on April 29. It is also stressed that as an alternative to medical masks can be used various scarves and handkerchiefs that cover the area of the nose and mouth.

Earlier this day, it was reported that the German government expects a decline in national GDP by 6.3% in 2020 compared to a year earlier due to the effects of the coronavirus pandemic. The federal and regional governments were expected to decide on May 6 whether there would be further steps to ease restrictive measures in the country.