Google will delete your files from the “Disc” if you do not use it

Share this post

Google has announced a new file storage policy. And although the main changes are related to “Google Photo”, there is one more important thing in the document that not everyone paid attention to. In brief: now, if you do not access your files on “Google Drive” from time to time, they will be deleted.

The changes will take effect on June 1, 2021. Since then, data from services that you have not visited more than two years, will be deleted. This is what the corporation itself writes about it:

“The easiest way to keep data active is to periodically visit Gmail, Google Photos and Google Drive (and / or applications for collaborative content creation, such as Google Docs, Tables, Presentations, Forms and Sites) in a web version or through an official Google application. Make sure that you are logged in to your account and connected to the Internet”.

Simply put, if you use Gmail exclusively through a third-party client, it will not be considered a visit: from time to time you will have to open a web version or an official application.