Merkel stated about non-recognition of Lukashenko by the President of Belarus

German Chancellor Angela Merkel said that Germany does not recognize Alexander Lukashenko as president of Belarus and is in favor of starting a dialogue with the opposition. She said this during a speech in the Bundestag on Wednesday, September 30.

“We do not recognize the election of President Lukashenko. We call on him to enter into a dialogue with his people without interference from the East and West. We condemn what is happening there every day, namely the elimination of the democratic process, violence against the opposition,” Merkel said.

Chancellor also confirmed an early meeting with the leader of the Belarusian opposition, Svetlana Tikhanovskaya, which she announced the day before. Merkel said she admired the women who took to the streets in protest, writes Süddeutsche Zeitung.

Merkel did not name the date of the meeting. According to Tihanovskaya, negotiations are scheduled for next week.

On the eve in Vilnius, Svetlana Tihanovskaya met with French President Emmanuel Macron. In particular, the opposition activist suggested holding talks in the OSCE on the organization of new presidential elections in Belarus. In response, the French leader promised to do everything possible to return to the OSCE mediation and release the detainees during the rallies in the republic.

Merkel had previously stated that she did not recognize the results of the presidential elections in Belarus, which she called unfair and unfair, and called for the OSCE to be involved in resolving the crisis in the country. According to her, she tried to organize a telephone conversation with Lukashenko, but it did not take place.

Presidential elections in Belarus were held on August 9. According to the CEC, with 80.1% of the votes Alexander Lukashenko won. Since then, protests of dissenters have continued in the country, and Tikhanovskaya and most of her comrades-in-arms have left the republic.

On September 23 in Minsk Palace of Independence Lukashenko’s inauguration took place. But authorities of Germany, Slovakia, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia refused to recognize him as the president of Byelorussia. In particular, in the Cabinet of Ministers of Germany the inauguration ceremony was called a secret, and voting – not meeting minimum requirements of democratic elections