Nobel Prize 2020 laureates in physics were named

Reinhard Henzel, Roger Penrose and Andrea Gez were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 2020. It was announced by committee of Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Tuesday, October 6.

Half of the award was given to Roger Penrose (University of Oxford, UK) “for the discovery that the formation of a black hole is a reliable prediction of the general theory of relativity.

The other half of the award will be shared by Reinhard Ganzel (Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Garching, Germany, and the University of California, Berkeley, USA) and Andrea Gez (University of California, Los Angeles, USA) “for the discovery of a supermassive compact object in the center of our galaxy.

Three laureates received this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics for discoveries related to one of the most exotic phenomena in the Universe – the black hole. Penrose showed that the general theory of relativity leads to the formation of black holes.

Hansel and Gez discovered that an invisible and extremely heavy object controls the orbits of stars in the center of our galaxy. An ultra-massive black hole is the only known explanation.

As reported the day before, the Nobel Prize in Medicine for 2020 was awarded to Harvey Alter (USA), Michael Houghton (UK) and Charles Rice (USA). The scientists were awarded the prize for research in the field of hepatitis C.

One thought on “Nobel Prize 2020 laureates in physics were named

Comments are closed.