Nobel Prize laureates in chemistry were named in Stockholm

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2020 was awarded to Emmanuelle Charpentier (France) and Jennifer Dowdne (USA). The prize was awarded for research into so-called “DNA scissors” that are used to edit animal and human genes, the Nobel Committee on Chemistry of the Swedish Royal Academy of Sciences in Stockholm said on Wednesday, October 7.

Nobel laureates for chemistry of past years

In 2019, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to John Houdinaf from the University of Texas at Austin, USA, to British Stanley Whittingham from Binghamton University and to Akira Yoshino from a private university in Japanese Nagoya for developing lithium-ion batteries. At the same time, the 97-year-old Houdinaf was the oldest Nobel Prize winner in the history of the Nobel Prize.

In 2018, the laureates of the Chemistry Prize were the Americans Francis Arnold and George Smith, as well as the British Gregory Winter, who made scientific contributions to the development of environmental technologies in the chemical industry.

In total, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded 111 times since 1901, and 184 scientists have become its laureates. In 1956, Russian and Soviet physicochemist Nikolai Semenov was awarded this prize, and he received it together with British scientist Cyril Hinshelwood.

Nobel Week and Online Ceremony

On October 8 the name of new winner of Nobel prize for literature will become known. On the last day of “Nobel week” the winner of peace prize will be named. On October 12 the decision on awarding the prize in the sphere of economics will be announced.

The size of the Nobel Prize in 2020 was increased in each category from 9 to 10 million Swedish kroons (in terms of about 956 thousand euros). The format of the traditional award ceremony, usually held on the day of Alfred Nobel’s death on December 10 in the Stockholm Philharmonic, has also been changed. Because of the coronavirus pandemic, it will be held online for the first time, and medals and diplomas will be received by the winners through the Swedish embassies or from the hands of former winners.

2 thoughts on “Nobel Prize laureates in chemistry were named in Stockholm

Comments are closed.