Oklahoma will quarantine people coming in from New York

State governors are imposing restrictions on visitors from major epidemic hotspots in the United States

Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt joined colleagues from other states on Sunday to demand that those coming from New York and other areas of the coronavirus epidemic be quarantined.

According to Stutt’s decree, travelers arriving in Oklahoma from New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, California, Washington State and Louisiana are to leave for a 14-day self-quarantine. Similar decrees were issued by Texas Governor Greg Abbott and others.

The Oklahoma Department of Health said the number of deaths from COVID-19 in the state rose to 16 on Sunday, one more than a day earlier. There are now 429 cases in 44 of the state’s 77 counties, compared to 377 on Saturday.

The last person to die was a man from Oklahoma County, aged 50 to 64, according to the Health Department. Lethal deaths have also been reported in Cleveland, Tulsa, Pawnee, Wagoner, Sequoia and Creek counties.

The counties where the virus has been confirmed must comply with Stutt’s “Safer Home” directive, which requires businesses that are not engaged in high-priority activities to temporarily stop providing services until April 16.

Food stores will remain open.

For most people, the new virus causes only mild to moderate symptoms, such as coughing and fever, which pass two to three weeks later. However, in others, especially the elderly and patients with pre-existing health problems, the virus can cause more serious illnesses, including pneumonia, and the infection can be fatal.