Switzerland imposed sanctions against Russia over Crimean Bridge

Switzerland imposed sanctions against Russian individuals and legal entities due to construction of Crimea Bridge. It is reported on the website of the State Secretariat of Economy (SECO).

“The Federal Office of Economics has made changes to the list of persons attached to the order on measures to prevent circumvention of international sanctions related to the situation in Ukraine,” the organization notes.

Restrictions have been introduced against two individuals and four legal entities. They came into force on October 15.

On October 1 the Council of European Union imposed restrictions against two persons and four legal entities from Russia that participated in construction of Crimean bridge. They fell under restrictions “for assistance with illegal annexation of Crimean peninsula”.

At the end of August six EU partner countries joined anti-Russian sanctions: Montenegro, Albania, Norway, Iceland, Georgia and Ukraine.

In the middle of June the Council of European Union approved a decision to prolong sanctions against Russia for another year because of Crimea.

Chancellor of Germany Angela Merkel stated in the end of May that relations between Russia and the European Union should “give new impulses” but with preservation of sanctions against Moscow.

Bridge to Crimea became the longest in Russia – its length makes 19 km. It connects peninsula with Krasnodarsky Krai. Automobile traffic was opened in 2018.

In March 2014, a referendum was held in the Crimea, according to which the peninsula joined Russia, and Sevastopol became a city of federal importance. In Moscow, many times stressed that the vote was held in full compliance with international law. Russian President Vladimir Putin has previously stated that the issue of belonging to the region is closed forever.