Ten American diplomats must leave Moscow by May 21

The Russian Foreign Ministry announced the expulsion of ten members of the American Embassy in Moscow. They have been asked to leave the country by May 21.

The deputy head of the U.S. Embassy in Moscow, Bart Gorman, received a note declaring ten U.S. diplomatic staff persona non grata. He was summoned to the Russian Foreign Ministry for this purpose.

“These persons are ordered to leave the territory of our country by the end of the day on May 21,” said the Foreign Ministry.

The ministry stressed that this decision was made because of the “hostile actions of the American side” against several employees of the Russian Embassy in Washington, who were unreasonably declared persona non grata.

The Foreign Ministry added that in the near future Moscow will respond to the U.S. anti-Russian sanctions.