The U.S. returned to the UN Human Rights Council

The United States has returned to the UN Human Rights Council (HRC) for a three-year term along with 18 other nations.

In addition to the United States, Argentina, Benin, Cameroon, Cameroon, Eritrea, Finland, Gambia, Honduras, India, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Montenegro, Paraguay, Somalia, Qatar, and the UAE joined the HRC.

A total of 47 states are members of the UN Human Rights Council. Some of them are re-elected every year, RT reports.

The U.S. has been absent from the HRC since 2018 following a decision by former U.S. President Donald Trump, REGNUM writes.

Washington has previously repeatedly criticized the UN HRC for its bias against Israel. The Council, in turn, condemned the Trump administration for its harsh immigration policy.

Last year, U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said, commenting on the election of China, Cuba and Russia to the HRC, that this “confirms the rightness of the U.S. decision to withdraw from the council in 2018 and use other platforms to protect and promote universal human rights.”