The US Embassy in Russia announced the termination of the issuance of visas for non-diplomatic travel

The U.S. Embassy in Russia announced that it stops issuing visas for non-diplomatic trips. This was announced on Friday, April 30, by the press service of the American diplomatic mission.

“Consideration of documents for non-immigrant and non-diplomatic visas will be stopped,” the statement said.

In addition, the U.S. Embassy in Moscow announced that since May 12 it will reduce the number of consular services because of Moscow’s decision to ban the hiring of foreigners. In addition, the staff of the diplomatic mission will be reduced by 75%.

On April 27, it became known that the Russian government would soon publish a list of “unfriendly countries” in accordance with the presidential decree signed on April 23.

According to the information, the list could include such countries as USA, UK, Poland, Czech Republic, Canada and the Baltic States. According to the decree, diplomatic missions of such countries would not be able to hire Russians.

In his turn, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov said that Moscow had the right to apply its hiring practices to the activities of the United States embassy in Russia – this was a response to Washington’s moves.