US calls on Armenia and Azerbaijan to stop the fighting immediately

The United States strongly condemns the escalation in Nagorno-Karabakh and calls on Yerevan and Baku to stop the violence immediately. This was stated by State Department spokesman Morgan Ortagus on Sunday, September 27.

According to her, Deputy State Secretary Stephen Bigan called Azerbaijani Foreign Minister Ceyhun Bayramov and Armenian Foreign Minister Zohrab Mnatsakyan and called on both sides to immediately stop the fighting and avoid further escalation and “useless rhetoric and actions that further exacerbate tensions on the ground.

In the morning of September 27, Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan said that Azerbaijani armed forces had initiated an attack on Nagorno-Karabakh. In response, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry said that Armenian armed forces opened fire on settlements on the line of contact in Karabakh. Yerevan, on the other hand, reported three tanks shot down, two helicopters shot down and three enemy drones.

Later in Baku, five people were reported killed by Armenian shelling and 19 civilians wounded on the line of contact. According to the leaders of the unrecognized Nagorno-Karabakh Republic (NKR), two civilians were killed and more than 30 others were wounded. Armenia reported 16 servicemen of the Karabakh Defense Army were killed.

The authorities of the unrecognized Nagorno-Karabakh Republic declared martial law and general mobilization. The Armenian government also took similar steps. On September 28, Azerbaijan declared martial law throughout the country and a curfew in a number of cities and districts.

The conflict in Karabakh began in February 1988, when the Nagorno-Karabakh Autonomous Region announced its secession from the Azerbaijani SSR. During the armed confrontation in 1992-1994, Azerbaijan lost control over Nagorno-Karabakh and seven surrounding districts. Since 1992, negotiations on peaceful settlement of the conflict have been held within the OSCE Minsk Group led by three co-chairmen – Russia, the USA and France.